“Tell me and I forget, teach me and I may remember, involve me and I learn.” ― Benjamin Franklin
Home Page

Ysgol Y Parc

Rydym yn tyfu a dysgu gyda’n gilydd er mwyn cael dyfodol disglair.

We grow and learn together for a bright future.

Curriculum for Wales

The Curriculum for Wales became statutory in September 2022. We are excited about what we have to offer our pupils and parents at Ysgol y Parc. When designing our Curriculum we have consulted with all stakeholders, including the pupils. Here is the link to our Curriculum Rationale (which is in constant review):




1. The curriculum has been made in Wales but shaped by the best ideas from around the world

This is the first time ever that schools in Wales will have a national curriculum set in Welsh Law.

The curriculum guidance is already published and is the result of many years work involving teachers, experts, national and community organisations.


2. The curriculum has been co-constructed from the early stages of its conception

The Curriculum for Wales is the result of co-construction – not top-down diktat from Government.

It has been developed by practitioners for practitioners, bringing together educational expertise and wider research and evidence. 


3. The curriculum has been designed around four purposes for learners

The four purposes will be the starting point and aspiration for every schools’ curriculum design. These represent the kind of learners that schools should help develop and the ethos of the entire education system.

Ultimately, the aim of a school’s curriculum will be to support its learners to become:

  • ambitious, capable learners, ready to learn throughout their lives
  • enterprising, creative contributors, ready to play a full part in life and work
  • ethical, informed citizens of Wales and the world
  • healthy, confident individuals, ready to lead fulfilling lives as valued members of society


4. Named subjects have been replaced by Areas of Learning and Experience

The curriculum framework includes six areas of learning and experience:

  • Expressive Arts
  • Health and Well-being
  • Humanities
  • Languages, Literacy and Communication
  • Mathematics and Numeracy
  • Science and Technology

The six areas encourage strong and meaningful links across different disciplines and this will enable learners to build connections across their learning and combine different experiences, knowledge and skills.

Each area includes What Matters statements – there are 27 of these in the entire framework – these are the ‘big ideas’ and key concepts for the curriculum. This is the national framework and helps ensure the same core learning and consistency of approach in curriculum design across settings and schools.


5. Children in Wales will have access to the full curriculum

 Schools will teach all learners about religion, values and ethics, and relationships and sexuality education in a consistent and developmentally appropriate way. This will ensure that all young people are provided with access to information that keeps them safe from harm and that all pupils will learn about issues such as online safety and healthy relationships.